Monday, 2nd July First Malaria World Congress 2018

7:00AM - 6:30PM
Goldfields Foyer
8:00AM - 9:30AM
Goldfields Theatre
Chair: Alan Lopez
9:30AM - 10:00AM
MWC Global Village
10:00AM - 12:00PM
Goldfields Theatre
Chair: Jane Halton

Panel Discussion: "Malaria Today & Health Security"

  • Professor David Heymann - London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; Head of the Centre on Global Health Security at Chatham House, London
  • Peter Versegi - Australian Ambassador for Regional Health Security
  • Dr Pedro Alonso - Director of the WHO Global Malaria Programme
  • Dr Jimmy Rogers - Board member of the Asia-Pacific Leaders Malaria Alliance
  • Dr Khuat Thi Hai Oanh - Founder and Executive Director of the Centre for Supporting Community Development Initiatives

12:00PM - 12:20PM
Goldfields Theatre
Chair: Helen Evans

Hon Julie Bishop MP, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Government of Australia and member of the End Malaria Council
"Towards Malaria Elimination in the Indo-Pacific Region"

12:30PM - 1:30PM
MWC Global Village
1:30PM - 3:30PM
Goldfields Theatre
Chairs: Jane Halton & Philip Welkhoff

Panel Discussion "Malaria Elimination: Whose business is it?"

  • Dr Winnie Mpanju-Shumbusho, Board Chair, RBM Partnership to End Malaria
  • Lelio Marmora, Unitaid
  • Dr David Reddy, Medicines for Malaria Venture



Q&A discussion to close

3:30PM - 4:00PM
MWC Global Village
5:30PM - 5:45PM
5:45PM - 6:40PM
MWC Global Village

Investigating functional antibody mechanisms against Plasmodium falciparum sporozoites in naturally-acquired and RTS,S vaccine-induced immunity    - Liriye Kurtovic (abs# 73)

5:45PM - 6:20PM
Eureka Room 1
Chairs: Louis Bernard Da Gama & Shreehari Acharya

Interactive session between civil society, government, development partners scientists and other interested parties on What does effective disease integration look like form community perspectives? Facilitated by Mr Louis de Gama and Mr Shree Acha

6:40PM - 7:30PM
Goldfields Theatre
Chair: Kim Lindblade

Followed by Q&A Discussion


The Congress would like to acknowledge that the follow speaker is an Australia Awards Health Security Fellow:

  • Ngo Duc Thang
  • Sengchanh Kounnavong